Chocolate Peanut Butter Popcorn

If, like me, you enjoy anything covered in peanut butter and chocolate, then I do believe you might enjoy this tasty little snack I whipped up!

PB. Chocolate. Popcorn.

The Money Shot. Chocolate. PB. Popcorn.

Allan is a popcorn addict. We have at least three bags of kernels in our pantry at ALL times. No microwave popcorn for this dude. We pop it old-school.

Poppin' It Old-School

Poppin’ It Old-School

I only truly enjoy kettle corn style popcorn – mmmm, perfect combination of sweet and salty. I’ve contemplated trying to make my own kettle corn at home, but I haven’t risked it yet since I’m absolutely sure it will be a total disaster. So, in the meantime, I thought I’d try another of my favourite combinations – chocolate and peanut butter. End product: Delicious, sweet, salty, peanut buttery, chocolately goodness.

Chocolatey, peanut buttery goodness.

Chocolatey, peanut buttery goodness.

This was super easy to make, and I just used experience from other baking recipes to ‘guess’ at how to make this work. (That’s my disclaimer if you try this and it turns out totally disgusting, and you hate me for giving you a crappy recipe).

1. Place your popped popcorn in a large bowl or a large paper bag (preferably one that hasn’t been used before). You need plenty of room to toss and shake (your popcorn, not your booty – although feel free to do both at once). I used 1/2 cup of kernels for my bowl.

2. Combine 6 tablespoons of butter and 4 tablespoons of brown sugar in a small saucepan. Whisk until melted and combined. Allow to bubble for a minute or two.

3. Add 1/2 cup of peanut butter and whisk until melted. * Note: I take the saucepan off the heat when doing this because I find that the peanut butter “cooks” insteads of melts when its on direct heat. Does that even make sense?

4. Drizzle the peanut butter ‘sauce’ over the popcorn, tossing the popcorn to coat.

5. Melt chocolate chips (either in a double-boiler or in the microwave) and drizzle over the popcorn, tossing to coat. * Note: I used both white chocolate AND dark chocolate chips (separately, not combined). Uh-huh. That’s how I roll.

Everyday I'm Drizzlin'

Everyday I’m Drizzlin’

6. Here is the hardest part. Put the bowl of popcorn in the freezer until the chocolate is hardened. I waited about two hours. I only waited that specific amount of time because ‘The Following’** was starting and I wanted my snack. That’s about as technical as it gets around here.

Now, if there are any left-overs (notice that I said “if”), you can just keep the popcorn in the freezer in either a sealed freezer bag or a sealed container. I thoroughly enjoyed this sweet n’ salty snack! The only thing I would change for next time? Besides making a bigger bowl, I’m going to try and figure out how to bring out the peanut butter taste a little more. I ended up with plenty of peanut butter ‘sauce’ leftover – hmmm, less quantity, more … peanut butter?

If you give this recipe a try, let me know how it turns out! And, if you figure out a way to get it more peanut-buttery-ier, you’d better let me know. Pretty, pretty please. 🙂

**Sidenote: I’ve recently become addicted to watching ‘The Following’ on Monday nights. The snacks simply help me endure the suspense. Or, at least, that’s what I tell myself.

Leave a Reply

