Cookie Cutter Scavenger Hunt

Ahhh, Valentine’s Day. A day of love, flowers, chocolate, cookies, and time with loved ones. I’m a fan of any special occasion that involves food, particularly the ‘sweet’ or ‘dessert’ variety. I was on the look-out for a yummy Valentine’s Day dessert recipe, and as luck would have it, Jillee over at One Good Thing by Jillee just happened to post a recipe for Valentine’s Day Sour Cream Cookies – SCORE! I’ve been following Jillee’s blog for almost a year now, and boy-o-boy does she have some neat-o stuff! This recipe takes the cake…er, cookie.

Out of the oven & into my mouth!

Out of the oven & into my mouth!

I was all over this cookie recipe! They looked beautiful and delicious, plus the recipe is no muss, no fuss! I already had all of the ingredients on hand, so I was ready to go. Only thing that I was missing to get down to business was a heart-shaped cookie cutter. Now, you’d think that it wouldn’t really be that hard to find a heart-shaped cookie cutter with Valentine’s Day only days away. Wrong. No heart-shaped cookie cutters to be found – hence the title of this post. Well, I was not going to let a little ol’ cookie cutter stop me from my quest for delicious cookies. So, I did the next best thing – I DIY-ed a cookie cutter.

DIY Cookie Cutter

DIY Cookie Cutter

I was relatively sure that I could make my own heart-shaped cookie cutter with a little effort and some ingenuity. I raided my recycling box when I got home, and decided to try using both a tin can (from a can of veggies) and a pop can. I also raided hubby’s tool box for a few tools to help me get the job done.

What You’ll Need:

  • Tin Can/Pop Can
  • VERY sharp scissors
  • Needlenose Pliers
  • Can Opener
  • Exacto Knife
  • Marker
  • Ruler/Measuring Tape
  • Hot Glue Gun

While I really liked the idea of using the tin can because it was a bit more sturdy, it was also much harder to work with – more difficult to cut and definitely not as easy to bend into a heart shape. I ended up using the pop can because it was easier to cut and shape. It also ended up being sturdy enough to cut these cookies, so it all worked out in the end!

First, I used a can opener to take the top off the can to make it easier to cut. I used my measuring tape to mark off a line about 3 inches down from the top of the can, and cut a vertical line from the top edge of the can down to the marker line. I cut around the can following the line, at which point I was left with a ‘cuff’ that was about half of a can.

Bracelet? Nope!

Bracelet? Nope!

I folded the cuff in half, leaving one edge about half an inch longer than the other side (soooo, not really half I guess). Cut the longer side into the shape of a ‘tab’ and use an exacto knife to cut a slot into the short side. The tab will fit into the slot to hold the cookie cutter together, so make sure that they are about the same width.

Tab A. Slot B.

Tab A. Slot B.

I turned the strip inside out so that the folded part of the strip became the downwards point of the heart – the print on the outside of the can is now on the inside of the cookie cutter.

Flip It!

Flip It!

Slip the tab into the slot, and bend the tab to secure it in place. I also used a dab of hot glue to make it extra secure. Note: Once you have made one bend in the can, do not bend it back the other way or move it around too much! This is what happens if you do…

First Heart. Broken.

First Heart. Broken.

The edge that was cut by my can-opener was relatively smooth compared to the edge that I cut with my scissors. I have one of those can-openers that is a safe cut (or whatever its called where you can’t amputate your arm with the edge afterwards). I decided to use that edge as the ‘cutting’ edge of my new cookie cutter because it wasn’t all jaggedy. However, that left me with the jaggedy edge on the top side (where I would be placing my hand) – I’m accident prone enough, so I don’t need help in that department. I just ran a line of hot glue around the top ‘jaggedy’ edge of the cookie cutter and let it cool. Now, I can cut cookies without cutting myself. 🙂

The possibilities for this DIY project are endless, and I will most definitely be attempting more of my own cookie cutter shapes in the future. Shamrocks anyone?

Check back later this week to see my post on how I made Jillee’s delicious Valentine’s Day Sour Cream Cookies!

Leave a Reply

