Unproductive Weekend + Quick Crafts = Cute Necklaces!

We spent this past weekend just hanging out, playing, and relaxing as a family. It was nice to not have anywhere to go or anything to do, and to just be able to spend the weekend lounging around the house. However, that also means that I didn’t get nearly as much done off of my ‘Crafts and DIY Projects’ list as I had originally planned. Oh well. Seems like a fair trade to me. I did manage to get a few small crafty things done while watching Season 1 of Downton Abbey (which is my new-found love, by the way).

I’ve been brainstorming ideas for a necklace charm for quite a while – I wanted one that represented my little family, but that wasn’t necessarily ‘traditional’. One of the first things that I ever pinned was a ‘bird’s nest’ necklace charm (which I’m still hoping to get around to making one of these days), but I liked the idea of something a little quirky (kinda like me, I guess)! Anyways, I finally put together a ‘pea pod’ necklace charm, which actually came about after I was playing scavenger hunt around my kitchen for ideas. I like food, what can I say. It was fairly easy to make – just some jewellery wire and beads!

Three Peas in a Pod

Three Peas in a Pod

Update: Apparently, someone else is also into quirky food-related necklace charms. I found one similar to my pea pod on Pinterest. Great minds think alike? Well, at least that’s what I’ll tell myself!

Necklaces seemed to be all I could accomplish this weekend – quick projects with little time and materials required! I had seen a number of necklaces on Pinterest that I wanted to attempt, but with my cousin’s wedding coming up in a few months, I was looking for something cute and delicate to make (maybe even possibly one for Audrey?). This is the one I used for inspiration:

My Necklace Inspiration!

My Necklace Inspiration!

This necklace was originally by FabYouBliss on Etsy (find the shop here), but is no longer available. I really like the bow on the side of this necklace, so I decided to give it a try. Again, using simple materials – jewellery wire, beads, and ribbon – I was able to put together a cute and simple necklace:

Ribbons & Beads

Ribbons & Beads

The longest part was stringing the beads in a pattern that I liked – I ended up taking it apart a few times before I managed to work a pattern that I was happy with. I’m hoping to try a version of this necklace using smaller beads that might be cute on Audrey for the wedding, so hopefully I’ll have a follow-up post about that soon!

Leave a Reply

