Pull-Apart PIZZA!

Get it while it's hot!

Get it while it’s hot!

As a stay-at-home Mom, the few spare moments that I snag during the day are usually spent crafting, blogging, or researching for either of those two tasks. Occasionally, I plop my ‘Mum Bum’ on the sofa with a cup of tea for an hour of mindless TV-watching. My preferred shows  – anything cooking, crafting, or HGTV. Oh, and now that I have the first three seasons of Downton Abbey, I spend ‘a bit’ of time watching that. Anyways, back to my inspiration for this post. Several weeks ago I was watching ‘Rachael Ray‘ and saw this life-changing video for Buffalo Pull-Apart Bread. Ok, well maybe it’s not life-changing, but it sure looked delicious! And from that video, my next recipe was born (erm, cooked).

Allan & I love pizza. Like, really LOVE pizza. Unfortunately, pizza does not love my tummy, or my butt, or my thighs… But, sometimes, ya just gotta indulge, fat cells be damned! So, I used the stacked pull-apart bread method to create a cheesy pull-apart pizza! Here’s the method to my madness.

Ball O' Dough

Ball O’ Dough

I used store-bought pizza dough. I was kinda bummed out. I like to make things myself if I can manage it – I enjoy knowing that I made an entire recipe from scratch. However, I am not in any way familiar with pizza-dough-making. So, store-bought it was. After I tasted how delicious it was, I wasn’t that bummed out anymore.

Roll It Out

Roll It Out

I let the dough rest at room temperature for about 30 minutes. I thought it would probably be easier to work with if it wasn’t all cold and stiff. Now, now…get control of yourselves. This was the most frustrating part of the entire recipe for me. The dough was pretty springy, and so every time I rolled it out into a lovely rectangle, it sprung back into a weird oblong. Hmph. I ended up letting the dough rest about another 20 minutes, and gave it another go. That definitely helped enough for me to get the dough to hold its shape once it was rolled out.

Toppings

Toppings

Now, the fun part begins! Toppings, toppings, and more toppings. I am usually of the mindset that more is better. More chocolate, more coffee, and more toppings. Insert your favourite pizza toppings here. And, don’t forget the sauce!

Cut

Cut That!

Now, this is when I realized that more toppings does not equal better. Why, you ask? Well, because after using a pizza cutter to cut the pizza into similar-sized squares (I think I ended up with about 20), you need to stack them on top of each other. More toppings = more mess when stacking. Not necessarily a bad thing, it just took me a few minutes to manipulate the squares without everything sliding off.

Stacked

Stacked

Lay your stack of pizza squares into a greased (or lined) loaf pan. I really crammed my squares in there nice and tight. In hindsight, I would leave a little more room, even if it meant having to leave a few squares out. Reason? I ended up having to cook the pizza a little longer to get the inside completely cooked, but then I ended up with a top that was a little well-done. We’re fine with that, since we usually order our pizza well-done anyways – just a note for you folks out there so you don’t end up with a crispy-golden-on-the-outside-raw-dough-in-the-middle-pizza.

Cooked

Cheesy, Bubbly, Pizza-y, Deliciousness.

I baked it at 375 degrees until it was golden-brown. This is my down-fall in the kitchen when sharing recipes with others – I typically approximate measurements, time, and temperature. I need to start recording this shtuff. I think it baked for about 45 minutes. Don’t quote me on that. I don’t want you to burn it. So, best to just keep watch on it. I mean, I was so eager to eat it that I think I peeked in on it about a million times anyways – and yes, I realize that constantly opening the oven door affects the internal temperature and therefore the cooking time. But seriously, is there anyone who can resist opening the door for a peek/whiff when something delicious is cooking/baking? C’mon.

I doubted that the pizza would just ‘pull-apart’, but it really does. And it’s delicious. And cheesy. Did I mention delicious? This is great for a quick dinner, especially when using store-bought dough. Just plan ahead to let the dough rest, and you’ll be able to throw it together in no time at all!

Leave a Reply

